To omit, or not to omit…

I was thinking about the IGCSE the other day – I have gone from teaching GCSE, to IGCSE, back to GCSE and now to IGCSE again and I still find myself having to check the list to see what topics are included/not included on IGCSE.

I’m a bit bemused as to why certain topics were omitted/included to be honest.

New topics:

  • Sets, Functions, Calculus – these are the big ones and I can see why as all are relevant for A-level.
  • Intersecting Chords Theorem I feel doesn’t bring much, but it’s only a minor topic so I’m willing to let it go.

But excluded topics include:

  • Exponential graphs/functions
  • COMPLETING THE SQUARE??
  • Gradients of perpendicular lines
  • Transformations of graphs
  • Equation of a circle
  • Trigonometry graphs
  • Scatter graphs, line of best fit, correlation
  • Box plot, stem and leaf

I just don’t know what I think about it to be honest. There is one I strongly disagree with (you may have noticed which one that is…) as I think it’s such a key part of understanding quadratics. But then I suppose if you do completing the square, you should also do graph transformations to get the best out of it. It’s such a key ability at A-level though!

I’m a supporter of IGCSE in general as I think it does stretch the top end more with more problem-solving, but I wish they had kept completing the square! I know you can’t include everything, but what would you omit/include?

 

 

Leave a Reply

